Academic Search PremierBiography Resource CenterBusiness Source PremierFind Articles Using EBSCO DatabasesFind Articles Using LexisNexisFind Information Using Gale DatabasesGreenwood Digital CollectionLexisNexis AcademicMarket Research HandbooksMore Information - More DatabasesNetLibrary
Biographical InformationCompany InformationCountry ResearchCulinary DatabasesCurrent Events and IssuesHealth/Nutrition InformationHospitality InformationLiterature (reviews, analysis)Newspaper Articles/General News
Citation TipsCiting ArticlesCiting BooksCiting Electronic ResourcesIn Text CitationsWorks Cited References
Periodical Guide 
Citation TipsCiting ArticlesCiting BooksCiting Electronic ResourcesIn Text CitationsWorks Cited References
JWU Home J&W Library Home Library Home J&W Home Charlotte Library
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources (Charlotte Campus)  Tags: citation library databases articles research books digital_books market_research  

A Guide to Help you find your way when dealing with the Library's Catalog (Finding Books) and Databases (Finding Articles)
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://jwucharlotte.libguides.com/libraryresources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Welcome to the Library             Print Page
  
 

Library LifeSaver Guide

 

 We have published a handy guide for students that goes over library services. The Library LifeSaver Guide provides a map of the library, information about library procedures, hours, librarian contact information as well as available resources such as databases and virtual reference

Download the full guide here (Word Document)

Library FAQ's

 

Q:  Why is it important for me to have my JWU student ID card with me when I come to the library?

A:  You’ll need your ID card to open the library door, and you can’t check out or renew books without it!  You also need it for printing.

 

Q:  How do I know if the library computer lab is open to students?

A:  There is a sign at the end of the hallway to notify you when the lab is closed for instruction.  There is also a calendar hanging on the wall outside the lab that lists all of the classes that are scheduled in the lab that week.

 

Q:  What should I do if I need help citing something in MLA format?

A:  Don’t panic- you have lots of options!  The library has the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (LB 2369 .G53 2003), which has examples for citing just about anything.  You could also ask a librarian for help - we’re happy to do that! You can also check out the MLA help right here on this Libguide - choose the Citation tabs for help.  If you need help after library hours, use our reference sheets available at http://library.jwu.edu or visit one of the following websites for examples:

 

 

Q:  Do you have a copier for students to use?

A:  Yes, there is a copier available to students next to the tables in the front room of the library (see map).  Copies are $.05, and the copier accepts dollar bills.

 

Q: How do I get into the library’s research databases when I’m off campus?

A:  Go to http://library.jwu.edu and click the “Databases” link.  Select the database you would like to use from the list, and click “Off Campus”.  Enter your name (as it appears on your JWU student ID) and barcode number (the long number on your id that starts with 2515… your J# will not work).  If you aren’t able to access the databases after attempting these steps, please call the reference desk for assistance: 980-598-1611.

 

Q:  How can I renew my books online?

A:  Go to http://library.jwu.edu and click the “Library Catalog” link.  At the top right of the screen, under HELIN Resources, click “My Library Account”.  Enter your name (as it appears on your JWU student id) and barcode number (the long number on your ID that starts with 2515… your J# will not work).  Once you log in, you will see a list of the materials you have checked out.  To renew, just check the boxes next to the books, and click “Renew”.  If you have trouble accessing this feature, please call the reference desk for assistance: 980-598-1611. 

 

Library Tour


Loading Video Clip...
 

Joe Eshleman

Profile ImageJoe Eshleman


 

Library Hours

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait