Academic Search PremierBiography Resource CenterBusiness Source PremierFind Articles Using EBSCO DatabasesFind Articles Using LexisNexisFind Information Using Gale DatabasesGreenwood Digital CollectionLexisNexis AcademicMarket Research HandbooksMore Information - More DatabasesNetLibrary
Biographical InformationCompany InformationCountry ResearchCulinary DatabasesCurrent Events and IssuesHealth/Nutrition InformationHospitality InformationLiterature (reviews, analysis)Newspaper Articles/General News
Citation TipsCiting ArticlesCiting BooksCiting Electronic ResourcesIn Text CitationsWorks Cited References
Periodical Guide 
Citation TipsCiting ArticlesCiting BooksCiting Electronic ResourcesIn Text CitationsWorks Cited References
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
JWU Home J&W Library Home Library Home J&W Home Charlotte Library
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources (Charlotte Campus)  Tags: citation library databases articles research books digital_books market_research  

A Guide to Help you find your way when dealing with the Library's Catalog (Finding Books) and Databases (Finding Articles)
Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://jwucharlotte.libguides.com/libraryresources  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Market Research Handbooks             Print Page
  
 

Richard K Miller & Associates Market Research

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), established in 1972, is a firm that publishes 12 annual consumer-related market research handbooks. With comprehensive analyses, we provide assessments of marketshare leaders, overviews of trends and market forecasts, and the most current market statistics available.

RKMA publications serve as a convenient and reliable resource for executives of Fortune 500 corporations, thousands of small businesses, management consultants, and hundreds of college and public libraries. If you have not yet used our handbooks, we invite you to join over 20,000 companies and organizations who have used our approach to market research

 

 

Casinos 2009 
on and off campus

“In every gaming market throughout the United States, retail has become one of the most important amenities casino properties can offer” (Casino Journal, 1/08).  Also, “Not surprisingly, the family-friendly pools won out, with all the top picks [casinos] offering multiple pools and features like lazy rivers, water slides, wave machines, sandy beaches, and waterfalls.  Other popular amenities include private cabanas and poolside gaming, which many of the winners offer” (Las Vegas Advisor, 5/08).

Consumer Behavior 2009  
on and off campus

“Few brands are immune to switching behavior.  Shoppers can be swayed by everything from promotions to packaging to pressure from their own family members” (TNS Retail Forward).



Consumer Marketing 2009
on and off campus

“We’re seeing a blurring between advertising and entertainment.  It’s a new business model” (USA Today, 4/10/07).  “Personalization is the whole new theme of this marketing era.  It’s the end of mass communications as we know it” (Advertising Age, 4/28/08).


Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web 2009
on and off campus

“A combination of series and season premiers, political news and parodies, and coverage of the financial crisis all contributed to increased online video viewing for the television networks in September.  Consumers are increasingly relying on the Web to catch up on content they missed when it aired on television and the networks are beginning to capitalize on this trend” (Jon Gibs, Vice President Media Analytics, Nielsen Online, 11/6/08).

Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook 2009
on and off campus

“People are still watching programs, just not necessarily on their TV screens" (Brandweek, 6/23/08)".….among connected consumers who watch TV, 55% also watch some type of video on devices other than their TV sets, including their computers, mobile phones, and digital media players” (R.K. Miller, 2009).

Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook 2008
on and off campus

“Traditionally known for unappetizing and even unhealthy food, hospitals are overhauling their food services, offering better-tasting, fresher and more nutritious cuisine, and giving patients more control over what and when they eat…Hoping to change eating habits, hospitals are offering community cooking classes, sponsoring local farmer’s markets and providing outpatient nutrition counseling”
(The Wall Street Journal, 9/19/07).

Hotels & Resorts 2009 
on and off campus  

“Although it took a serious recession, hotel companies are making their loyalty programs more attractive.  As a result, loyalty travelers will be recipients of some of the best incentives in years.”  And, “Establishing eco-friendly programs can be a cost effective marketing tool, and simply raising awareness of environmentally friendly programs will help many properties” (Jonathan Barsky, Ph.D., Chairman, Market Metrix, Hotel & Motel Management, 12/8/08).
 

Leisure Market Research Handbook 2008
on and off campus  

“Cooking is hot – red hot.  The number one hobby in America is cooking” (Tales From A Tuscan Table, 2007).  “Instead of sitting there and watching the whole Tonight Show, they’ll just go and see whatever the best clip is on YouTube” (The New York Times, 8/20/07).

Restaurant & Foodservice Market Research Handbook 2009
on and off campus

“Posing formidable competition for nearby restaurants, high-profile specialty retailers are doubling as restaurant destinations as they aim to keep customers in their stores for longer time periods.  Stores ranging from the fashionable Tommy Bahama and Polo Ralph Lauren to the bargain-pricing Ikea home furnishings emporiums are very much in the restaurant business” (Nation’s Restaurant News, 4/14/08). 
Also, “With the early meal becoming more of a staple now in American life, many restaurant operators are beginning to evolve their morning menus.  Restaurants today are primarily putting a greater emphasis on portable, on-the-go breakfast items” (The Breakfast Journal, 8/11/08).  


Retail Business Market Research Handbook 2008
on and off campus

“Multichannel retailing is the state of the industry right now – 80% of Americans now shop from home at least some of the time.  Consumers want to shop when they want to and where they want to” (Direct Marketing Association, Chicago Tribune).

Sports Marketing 2009 
on and off campus

“As the sports economy has become more complex, the business of stadiums has come to rival sports television in financial significance.  A new stadium can help keep a city from losing a team, and turbocharge the local fan base.  Most critically, it can give a team a huge advantage in snaring top talent”
(Newsweek, 10/20/08).

Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook 2009
on and off campus

"In today's highly competitive tourism industry, one of the battlegrounds on which convention and visitors bureaus are waging their battles to win meetings and leisure visitors is the web" (Meeting News, 7/7/08).

 

 

Joe Eshleman

Profile ImageJoe Eshleman


 

More Market Research Help

MORE MARKET RESEARCH


Off-campus access: Most J&W resources will prompt you to type your first name, last name, and the 14-digit barcode number along the bottom edge of your Johnson & Wales University I.D.  If you are asked to use other login methods, please follow the instructions that are provided.


Hoover’s Academic Online (Charlotte Campus)
on campus  |  off campus

In-depth information for 43,000 U.S. & international public and top private companies.  Under Browse Company Record, link to Competitive Landscape (compare a company’s data with 3 of its top competitors within the same industry), corporate history, financials including historical, SEC Filings (easy-to-view annual reports), stock market data, products/operations, company news updates, key executives, and more.  See Data Definitions for an explanation of financial terms such as different types of ratios. 
NOTE: "Expanded Access Needed" indicates that some industry data is not available through the University's academic subscription and may be purchased as pay-per-views.
  More information



NeighborhoodScout (Premium)
on and off campus   
 
Demographics and neighborhood lifestyles data for all 50 states, all 16,464 cities and towns, and all 61,500 neighborhoods covering the entire United States.  Are you planning to open a business, move across town or across the country?  This is a useful tool for market research analysis and relocation.  Enter a street address, city, state, or zip code, and click on "SCOUT NOW" to view statistics for a specific area including population demographics.  Or, look up the best neighborhoods throughout the U.S. based on various criteria such as best schools, neighborhood crime rates, and appreciation rates for house values.  Plus, link directly to real estate pages for each JWU campus area: Providence real estate, Charlotte real estate, Denver real estate, and North Miami real estate.  
NOTE: You must "Sign In" to access all of the content.         
ACCESS: Please ask for assistance to sign in by either visiting or calling the JWU Library at your campus below: Providence (401-598-1121 or 401-598-1466), Charlotte (980-598-1611), Denver (303-256-9345), No. Miami (305-892-7043).  Staff will ask you for your library barcode numbers along the bottom of your JWU photo ID.  More information


Plunkett Research Online
on campus  |  off campus

Valuable industry information for students and job seekers in various fields including Advertising & Branding; Airlines, Hotel & Travel; Apparel & Textiles; Banking; Biotechnology; Computers & Software; Consulting; Entertainment & Media; Food & Beverage Industry; Health Care; Investment; Retail; Sports Industry; Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics; Telecommunications; Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID. Each type of industry gives you market research & trends, statistics, company profiles, names of associations within specific industries and occupations, and a glossary of industry-specific terms with their definitions. Job seekersUse the current edition of Occupational Outlook Handbook to look up job titles, training, education, and other qualifications needed for hiring and advancement, earnings/salaries, and a general description of job duties and working conditions.  More information

back to top

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait